The Profile Brotherhood RC Forum banner

CA hinges

1151 Views 12 Replies 11 Participants Last post by  446
I've never used CA hinges before and just need some clarification...

If I understand correctly, you insert the dry hing into slots in both the control surface and the wing/tail and *then* (once you've set the gap and are sure everything's lined up) you wick in some thin CA. The thin CA is then drawn into the slots/wood by capillary action and then sets.

If this is correct -- won't the hinge be very stiff with all that hard CA impregnated along the line where it is supposed to bend?

And won't it be rather hard to keep the hinge-gap very small so as to reduce the tendency to flutter with this method?

How do you make sure you don't end up just gluing the two parts together?

Before I stuff this up I'd like some input from those who know.

If the instructions hadn't said otherwise this is how I would have done it:

Push the hinges into the slots and position the control surface, setting the gap to the minum that would allow adequate control deflection.

Drill a small hole through the control surface and the surface it's hinged to - so that the hole goes roughly through the middle of each end of the hinge material as well.

Drip some thin CA into the hole so that it is then soaked up by the hinge material -- using just enough CA to ensure that it doesn't reach the actual hinge-line itself.

What say you?
1 - 13 of 13 Posts