max amps

This is the place to hang and talk.

max amps

PostPosted: Fri May 14, 2021 9:31 pm

Just a wondering,if a motor is stated at 25amps,if you prop it on ground at 25amps,does it unload,less amps in air. Or,could you prop at 30amps,knowing it would be less in air,if looking for max power. This and to get rid of ass stoppers post.
sparkplug
Pro Bro
 
Posts: 2027
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2020 10:45 pm
Location: 1 mile from lake Thurmond 15miles north of augusta ga.

Remove Advertisements

TheProfileBrotherhood.com
Advertisement
 

Re: max amps

PostPosted: Sat May 15, 2021 12:41 am

Unscientificly............the solder in the motor is the limit,given the motor can be loaded(prop),then the esc,then batterys.














I think :D
athol probro stickbangers club

"There is room in the Hood for everyone, but not everybody finds a home in the Hood"
- goofy-

"Best part is if you dork a harrier from a few feet up, it's like a decent CJ landing" -steener-
doinkedit
Pro Bro
 
User avatar
 
Posts: 2609
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: Snake river idaho

Re: max amps

PostPosted: Sat May 15, 2021 5:30 am

max power is a name. and a guideline. enough power is enough, why squeeze more? you'll just let the smoke out and sling magnets.
Attachments
4c360d4776094a83a51f6b8d9b7e4f55--los-simpson-homer-simpson-meme.jpg
4c360d4776094a83a51f6b8d9b7e4f55--los-simpson-homer-simpson-meme.jpg (18.77 KiB) Viewed 735 times
"you didn't add strength. you added WEIGHT"- w.f.
Wild Fred
Pro Bro
 
User avatar
 
Posts: 16785
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:56 am
Location: sitting on the seawall fishing

Re: max amps

PostPosted: Sat May 15, 2021 1:57 pm

Just wondered,with feed back from radios,what the amps were in the air,dont want to start no scheeees again. Then again,bro power is more than you need,and some.
sparkplug
Pro Bro
 
Posts: 2027
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2020 10:45 pm
Location: 1 mile from lake Thurmond 15miles north of augusta ga.

Re: max amps

PostPosted: Sat May 15, 2021 2:15 pm

Yes you can push them, a lot, if you know your numbers.
I use the logger on the Castle ESC’s when pushing a setup to see what it does.
It gives you voltage/amps/watts/RPMs to compare prop/batts setups.
The Argentinian Pro Bro!!!!!!!!!!!

And now proud member of the RMM.
gus
Pro Bro
 
User avatar
 
Posts: 13966
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 1:26 pm
Location: Park City, UT

Re: max amps

PostPosted: Sat May 15, 2021 5:28 pm

Watching cf fly,thats some neet tec,see how much amps while flying,let you know how much you can go with no smoke,maybe. :tu:
sparkplug
Pro Bro
 
Posts: 2027
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2020 10:45 pm
Location: 1 mile from lake Thurmond 15miles north of augusta ga.

Re: max amps

PostPosted: Sat May 15, 2021 7:35 pm

I run a motor to its published "watt" rating I will generally go the extra cell than advertised but still NOT exceed the "WATT"
rating, the epurists have a formula that you need so much iron ore weight per watts of power.

I generaly have ignored the warnings and have pushed motors hard. Now that I have reatime tools with instant comps I am now seeing the errors of my ways in flight time effieciency. I now look at adding aprox 15% in motor weight grams and dropping KV by 10%, but keeping prop and battery the same, ALL of my repowers are now turning the same prop FASTER and longer flightime so I am know nearing 5 minutes of C/F Powa 3D.......
c/f
Pro Bro
 
Posts: 731
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2005 12:38 am

Re: max amps

PostPosted: Sat May 15, 2021 8:37 pm

I think i get it,extra motor uses them watts better,turns prop faster,so lower kv needed. Not the push them till they glow way. Neat what new radios can do.Somehow,i think gus likes to see them glow,i could be wrong.
sparkplug
Pro Bro
 
Posts: 2027
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2020 10:45 pm
Location: 1 mile from lake Thurmond 15miles north of augusta ga.

Re: max amps

PostPosted: Sat May 15, 2021 9:29 pm

sparkplug wrote:I think i get it,extra motor uses them watts better,turns prop faster,so lower kv needed. Not the push them till they glow way. Neat what new radios can do.Somehow,i think gus likes to see them glow,i could be wrong.


Oh no, I don’t like to see them glow, not on a toy plane nor at work where we have DC and AC motors up to 1000 HP...
The Argentinian Pro Bro!!!!!!!!!!!

And now proud member of the RMM.
gus
Pro Bro
 
User avatar
 
Posts: 13966
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 1:26 pm
Location: Park City, UT

Re: max amps

PostPosted: Sat May 15, 2021 9:45 pm

c/f wrote:I run a motor to its published "watt" rating I will generally go the extra cell than advertised but still NOT exceed the "WATT"
rating, the epurists have a formula that you need so much iron ore weight per watts of power.

I generaly have ignored the warnings and have pushed motors hard. Now that I have reatime tools with instant comps I am now seeing the errors of my ways in flight time effieciency. I now look at adding aprox 15% in motor weight grams and dropping KV by 10%, but keeping prop and battery the same, ALL of my repowers are now turning the same prop FASTER and longer flightime so I am know nearing 5 minutes of C/F Powa 3D.......



This has always been an issues going back to guy pushing 100+ amps on g32s , watts in does not equal watts out once you moved passed the window where a motors efficient
Hi my name is DorkitDan, may I fly your plane please ;)
dhooks
Pro Bro
 
User avatar
 
Posts: 14320
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 8:53 pm
Location: USA-Florida-Lake Butler

Re: max amps

PostPosted: Sun May 16, 2021 7:01 pm

dhooks wrote:
c/f wrote:I run a motor to its published "watt" rating I will generally go the extra cell than advertised but still NOT exceed the "WATT"
rating, the epurists have a formula that you need so much iron ore weight per watts of power.

I generaly have ignored the warnings and have pushed motors hard. Now that I have reatime tools with instant comps I am now seeing the errors of my ways in flight time effieciency. I now look at adding aprox 15% in motor weight grams and dropping KV by 10%, but keeping prop and battery the same, ALL of my repowers are now turning the same prop FASTER and longer flightime so I am know nearing 5 minutes of C/F Powa 3D.......



This has always been an issues going back to guy pushing 100+ amps on g32s , watts in does not equal watts out once you moved passed the window where a motors efficient


Damn, 100+ is a bit to much.
Those 220-230 grams, 830-900 KV, motors should be propped to 90-95 amps on 4S.
Xoar 14x7 is perfect.
The Argentinian Pro Bro!!!!!!!!!!!

And now proud member of the RMM.
gus
Pro Bro
 
User avatar
 
Posts: 13966
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 1:26 pm
Location: Park City, UT

Re: max amps

PostPosted: Sun May 16, 2021 8:01 pm

Thats the light for night flying,glowing motor up front. What size,weight plane uses them 100amp motors,i be guessing 60 size. No wonder them magnets get slung.
sparkplug
Pro Bro
 
Posts: 2027
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2020 10:45 pm
Location: 1 mile from lake Thurmond 15miles north of augusta ga.

Re: max amps

PostPosted: Sun May 16, 2021 8:23 pm

A 100A motor could be a 40, 60, or bigger size depending on how many cells you are running on it.
Watts is what matters when sizing them.
Watts=Volts x Amps
The Argentinian Pro Bro!!!!!!!!!!!

And now proud member of the RMM.
gus
Pro Bro
 
User avatar
 
Posts: 13966
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 1:26 pm
Location: Park City, UT

Re: max amps

PostPosted: Sun May 16, 2021 8:36 pm

The Argentinian Pro Bro!!!!!!!!!!!

And now proud member of the RMM.
gus
Pro Bro
 
User avatar
 
Posts: 13966
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 1:26 pm
Location: Park City, UT

Re: max amps

PostPosted: Sun May 16, 2021 10:25 pm

That was a good read. I must say,my batts be warm to a bit more ,still hold in hand easily,not cool for shure. They are holding up well so far,not staying wide open helps i think. EL is easy,and now i see why chargers for many packs at one time have a place. TO EASY,we old timers will tale the tells of glow engines one day,son,i fliped and fliped till my fingers hurt,thing of the past. :tu:
sparkplug
Pro Bro
 
Posts: 2027
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2020 10:45 pm
Location: 1 mile from lake Thurmond 15miles north of augusta ga.

Re: max amps

PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2021 3:00 pm

Rules of thumb,1300 3s batt,what be max safe charge rate. Now,use 2.5amp ,no heat,just looking for avg charge bros do per ma on there,reg batts,not super stuff,to cheap for them.
sparkplug
Pro Bro
 
Posts: 2027
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2020 10:45 pm
Location: 1 mile from lake Thurmond 15miles north of augusta ga.

Re: max amps

PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2021 5:57 pm

i buy 2 motors, crank first till i let the magic smoke out, then back off on the other... or you can just use wf... or gus... or even doinkitdan setups and be fine.
"you didn't add strength. you added WEIGHT"- w.f.
Wild Fred
Pro Bro
 
User avatar
 
Posts: 16785
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:56 am
Location: sitting on the seawall fishing

Re: max amps

PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2021 8:16 pm

Well,i guess that would tell the truth,push them till they glow,or burn,then replace. Bet gus is shaking his head,no hope for WF and plug.
sparkplug
Pro Bro
 
Posts: 2027
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2020 10:45 pm
Location: 1 mile from lake Thurmond 15miles north of augusta ga.

Re: max amps

PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2021 10:09 pm

No charging recommendations,come on,save plug some packs. I know you have pushed it,charge that is,what you have learned i would like to know. Smaller packs,i am not in the big guy club yet. :clap: :clap:
sparkplug
Pro Bro
 
Posts: 2027
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2020 10:45 pm
Location: 1 mile from lake Thurmond 15miles north of augusta ga.

Re: max amps

PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2021 10:35 pm

Charging a lipo at the same rate as the capacity (1C) is pretty much the standard "safe" charge rate.
:hover: McDDD #415

˙ʇᴉ op oʇ ʍoɥ ʇno ǝɹnƃᴉɟ ʇ,uɐɔ I ʇnq 'looɔ sʞool ʇxǝʇ spɹɐʍʞɔɐq puɐ uʍop ǝpᴉsd∩
McDDD
Pro Bro
 
User avatar
 
Posts: 6067
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 10:14 pm
Location: Eldon, MO

Next

Return to Pro Bro General Chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests