Can a Heli Motor be used in a Plane???

Can a Heli Motor be used in a Plane???

PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2011 4:54 pm

I came out with a foamy combat plane before my attack and though it will be a few months before I’m up and modeling, I was looking at this motor.

http://www.hobbypartz.com/alpha-400--35 ... motor.html

The motor I’m using is a BL20-15 that I use on my 3D 15 size Lamyak’s so top end speed isn’t there. This motor is made for helis but thought I’d use a prop adaptor and try it out to see if I can pick some speed up. Here is a bad video of it's maiden flight http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PEtPY4ypCHU

Would using this motor with prop just burn it up? If not, what prop range would I be looking at?

Thanks Guys, new to electric!!

Max
Attachments
Destroyer%201.JPG
Last edited by LostMyPlane - RIP on Thu Feb 10, 2011 5:09 pm, edited 2 times in total.
http://WWW.3DPlaneKits.com
Pro Bro# 1088
Lamyak 15 - Lamyak 40 - Lamyak 60 - Mad Yak55 40 - Mad Yak55 60 size NEXT

Have you YAK'd today???
LostMyPlane - RIP
Pro Bro
 
User avatar
 
Posts: 2009
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2004 3:17 pm
Location: Dauphin Island, Alabama

Remove Advertisements

TheProfileBrotherhood.com
Advertisement
 

Re: Can a Heli Motor be used in a Plane???

PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2011 5:01 pm

The problem with using a heli motor in a typical plane is heli motors have to high of a KV (rpms per volt) vs their max amp rating. So by the time your spining your prop fast enough your way over the alloted amps. In heli's the gear train takes care of all of those issues.

Now if you want to put a small prop on one ( like 4.5 x 4.5 or 5x5 ect) for a screaming pusher jet then your in business, but you'll still need to pay attention to the amp draw.
24HourYardSigns.com
3D Mafia
What The Helli
Pro Bro
 
User avatar
 
Posts: 574
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 1:54 am
Location: Cookeville, TN

Re: Can a Heli Motor be used in a Plane???

PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2011 5:08 pm

What The Helli wrote:The problem with using a heli motor in a typical plane is heli motors have to high of a KV (rpms per volt) vs their max amp rating. So by the time your spining your prop fast enough your way over the alloted amps. In heli's the gear train takes care of all of those issues.

Now if you want to put a small prop on one ( like 4.5 x 4.5 or 5x5 ect) for a screaming pusher jet then your in business, but you'll still need to pay attention to the amp draw.



Hummmm...great info there!!!

so can anyone tell me what a good kv for a 20oz AUW 400 class plane would be? I'm using a 900kv motor right now and I'm sure that's to low?????
http://WWW.3DPlaneKits.com
Pro Bro# 1088
Lamyak 15 - Lamyak 40 - Lamyak 60 - Mad Yak55 40 - Mad Yak55 60 size NEXT

Have you YAK'd today???
LostMyPlane - RIP
Pro Bro
 
User avatar
 
Posts: 2009
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2004 3:17 pm
Location: Dauphin Island, Alabama

Re: Can a Heli Motor be used in a Plane???

PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2011 5:54 pm

It should work but don't push it too hard, wire size it's quite small.

I am ordering this one to give it a try on the Ferroplane

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/stor ... oduct=6262

And if you want a kick ass high KV outrunner then get a Microdan from Gobrushless... :wink:
The Argentinian Pro Bro!!!!!!!!!!!

And now proud member of the RMM.
gus
Pro Bro
 
User avatar
 
Posts: 13989
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 1:26 pm
Location: Park City, UT

Re: Can a Heli Motor be used in a Plane???

PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2011 5:55 pm

LostMyPlane wrote:
What The Helli wrote:The problem with using a heli motor in a typical plane is heli motors have to high of a KV (rpms per volt) vs their max amp rating. So by the time your spining your prop fast enough your way over the alloted amps. In heli's the gear train takes care of all of those issues.

Now if you want to put a small prop on one ( like 4.5 x 4.5 or 5x5 ect) for a screaming pusher jet then your in business, but you'll still need to pay attention to the amp draw.



Hummmm...great info there!!!

so can anyone tell me what a good kv for a 20oz AUW 400 class plane would be? I'm using a 900kv motor right now and I'm sure that's to low?????


I guess you are using 3s, right? If so get something that's 1100KV - 1200KV
The Argentinian Pro Bro!!!!!!!!!!!

And now proud member of the RMM.
gus
Pro Bro
 
User avatar
 
Posts: 13989
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 1:26 pm
Location: Park City, UT

Re: Can a Heli Motor be used in a Plane???

PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2011 6:09 pm

Yep, have some 1250 3s 30c and some 1500 3s 30c lipos. Want to keep to the cheap packs, even if it means modifying the plane, I could always go smaller and lighter.

I have a lot of time to mull tings over right now....wife would kill me If I even went close to my building desk....must admit I couldn’t do anything RC except be a spectator right now. So figure I’d get information to go towards the feature when I’m up and running again!!!!
http://WWW.3DPlaneKits.com
Pro Bro# 1088
Lamyak 15 - Lamyak 40 - Lamyak 60 - Mad Yak55 40 - Mad Yak55 60 size NEXT

Have you YAK'd today???
LostMyPlane - RIP
Pro Bro
 
User avatar
 
Posts: 2009
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2004 3:17 pm
Location: Dauphin Island, Alabama

Re: Can a Heli Motor be used in a Plane???

PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2011 6:19 pm

what prop are you using?
Is your motor getting hot? if not you may be able to increase the pitch till you get the speed you want.
24HourYardSigns.com
3D Mafia
What The Helli
Pro Bro
 
User avatar
 
Posts: 574
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 1:54 am
Location: Cookeville, TN

Re: Can a Heli Motor be used in a Plane???

PostPosted: Tue Feb 15, 2011 11:14 am

What The Helli wrote:what prop are you using?
Is your motor getting hot? if not you may be able to increase the pitch till you get the speed you want.


I'm using 9x6E props. I just order some 10x5E props to give them a try since the motor isn't getting hot.
http://WWW.3DPlaneKits.com
Pro Bro# 1088
Lamyak 15 - Lamyak 40 - Lamyak 60 - Mad Yak55 40 - Mad Yak55 60 size NEXT

Have you YAK'd today???
LostMyPlane - RIP
Pro Bro
 
User avatar
 
Posts: 2009
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2004 3:17 pm
Location: Dauphin Island, Alabama

Re: Can a Heli Motor be used in a Plane???

PostPosted: Tue Feb 15, 2011 11:14 am

gus wrote:It should work but don't push it too hard, wire size it's quite small.

I am ordering this one to give it a try on the Ferroplane

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/stor ... oduct=6262

And if you want a kick ass high KV outrunner then get a Microdan from Gobrushless... :wink:


Gus,

what prop are you going to try with this motor??

Max
http://WWW.3DPlaneKits.com
Pro Bro# 1088
Lamyak 15 - Lamyak 40 - Lamyak 60 - Mad Yak55 40 - Mad Yak55 60 size NEXT

Have you YAK'd today???
LostMyPlane - RIP
Pro Bro
 
User avatar
 
Posts: 2009
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2004 3:17 pm
Location: Dauphin Island, Alabama

Re: Can a Heli Motor be used in a Plane???

PostPosted: Tue Feb 15, 2011 11:32 am

Max,

This motor works great in my Sabre 35, with AUW of 24 oz http://www.valuehobby.com/product_detai ... =135...and the price is right. With a GWS 10X6 prop, it flies great with that combo.
It may work for you ? :tu:
An open mind does not always require an open mouth

Sabre 35/Geforce450
Sabre 47/O.S.55Ax (RIP)
Mojo 40/Webra50
ChinnYak Kit Built/E
E/PBF
Lamyak 40 (On the Board)
Bouncer (Stalled)
SBACH 25/E (Covering)
Bunch of kits..
slabhead
Pro Bro
 
User avatar
 
Posts: 1606
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: South Carolina

Re: Can a Heli Motor be used in a Plane???

PostPosted: Tue Feb 15, 2011 11:35 am

slabhead wrote:Max,

This motor works great in my Sabre 35, with AUW of 24 oz http://www.valuehobby.com/product_detai ... =135...and the price is right. With a GWS 10X6 prop, it flies great with that combo.
It may work for you ? :tu:


So if your using a gws 10x6 for 3Ding...I'd want to use something like an 8x8 for speed????? :dk:

Hope this isn't to dumb of a question....still learning all this E stuff!!

Max :drink:
http://WWW.3DPlaneKits.com
Pro Bro# 1088
Lamyak 15 - Lamyak 40 - Lamyak 60 - Mad Yak55 40 - Mad Yak55 60 size NEXT

Have you YAK'd today???
LostMyPlane - RIP
Pro Bro
 
User avatar
 
Posts: 2009
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2004 3:17 pm
Location: Dauphin Island, Alabama

Re: Can a Heli Motor be used in a Plane???

PostPosted: Tue Feb 15, 2011 11:47 am

Any prop you put on that motor will burn it up. In the pylon racer that I put together, I was running the align trex motor (2550kv) with a 4.1x4.1 prop and pulling 35 amps. A hotter setup is to use a neu motor with ~2800 kv witch were pulling somewhere near 45A.

If you are looking at 8" props, then you will need something in the 1200kv range. Unless you want to drop to a 2S setup then 3700kv is possible.
In the air: MoHalfAss 60, 3DHS 89" Slick, AW 87" Edge 540T
In Repair: Saber 35, 3DHS Buck Huck, Zero G, WH Baby Edge
In the Box: MoJo 40
3DJunkie
Pro Bro
 
User avatar
 
Posts: 771
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 11:09 am
Location: League City, TX

Re: Can a Heli Motor be used in a Plane???

PostPosted: Tue Feb 15, 2011 11:47 am

LostMyPlane wrote:
slabhead wrote:Max,

This motor works great in my Sabre 35, with AUW of 24 oz http://www.valuehobby.com/product_detai ... =135...and the price is right. With a GWS 10X6 prop, it flies great with that combo.
It may work for you ? :tu:


So if your using a gws 10x6 for 3Ding...I'd want to use something like an 8x8 for speed????? :dk:

Hope this isn't to dumb of a question....still learning all this E stuff!!

Max :drink:


Yep 10x6 GWS is the best I've found, tried 10x6 & 7 in APC & MA 11x5.5 & 10x3.8 Slow fly, and I keep coming back to the GWS, It seems to have the right thrust and spool up speed, Not sure about 8x8, seems a bit small for 1100KV motor on 3s.
An open mind does not always require an open mouth

Sabre 35/Geforce450
Sabre 47/O.S.55Ax (RIP)
Mojo 40/Webra50
ChinnYak Kit Built/E
E/PBF
Lamyak 40 (On the Board)
Bouncer (Stalled)
SBACH 25/E (Covering)
Bunch of kits..
slabhead
Pro Bro
 
User avatar
 
Posts: 1606
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: South Carolina

Re: Can a Heli Motor be used in a Plane???

PostPosted: Tue Feb 15, 2011 12:08 pm

LostMyPlane wrote:
gus wrote:It should work but don't push it too hard, wire size it's quite small.

I am ordering this one to give it a try on the Ferroplane

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/stor ... oduct=6262

And if you want a kick ass high KV outrunner then get a Microdan from Gobrushless... :wink:


Gus,

what prop are you going to try with this motor??

Max


Gonna try some Graupner 5" x sthg that I have and see how many amps it pulls.
Looking for 45 or so amps to start with.
The Argentinian Pro Bro!!!!!!!!!!!

And now proud member of the RMM.
gus
Pro Bro
 
User avatar
 
Posts: 13989
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 1:26 pm
Location: Park City, UT

Re: Can a Heli Motor be used in a Plane???

PostPosted: Tue Feb 15, 2011 12:19 pm

LostMyPlane wrote:
slabhead wrote:Max,

This motor works great in my Sabre 35, with AUW of 24 oz http://www.valuehobby.com/product_detai ... =135...and the price is right. With a GWS 10X6 prop, it flies great with that combo.
It may work for you ? :tu:


So if your using a gws 10x6 for 3Ding...I'd want to use something like an 8x8 for speed????? :dk:

Hope this isn't to dumb of a question....still learning all this E stuff!!

Max :drink:


Not sure about 8x8 but on 1100kv 8x6 does pretty good on the ferroplane with a KD A22-15 (1050KV), I now have a 3530 1400KV still with an 8x6E, pretty fast! Both on 3S.


Some more info:

viewtopic.php?f=20&t=23030
The Argentinian Pro Bro!!!!!!!!!!!

And now proud member of the RMM.
gus
Pro Bro
 
User avatar
 
Posts: 13989
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 1:26 pm
Location: Park City, UT

Re: Can a Heli Motor be used in a Plane???

PostPosted: Tue Feb 15, 2011 1:35 pm

Ok my Bad !! missed the part about "foamy combat plane" in the OP !! :oops: :doh:
sorry Max, here i thought we were talking a 3D plane ! must be to much :drunk: :drunk: :mrgreen:
Disregard all previous posts !! :rofl:
An open mind does not always require an open mouth

Sabre 35/Geforce450
Sabre 47/O.S.55Ax (RIP)
Mojo 40/Webra50
ChinnYak Kit Built/E
E/PBF
Lamyak 40 (On the Board)
Bouncer (Stalled)
SBACH 25/E (Covering)
Bunch of kits..
slabhead
Pro Bro
 
User avatar
 
Posts: 1606
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: South Carolina


Return to 3DPlanekits.com

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest